What Happens When Your LTD Switches from Own-Occupation to Any-Occupation

At the 24-month mark, most employer group LTD policies quietly change the definition of "disabled." You go from being covered because you cannot do your job to being covered only if you cannot do any job you are reasonably qualified for. Your medical condition does not change. Your limitations do not change. But the rules do. And that single change is the number one trigger for benefit terminations across the entire LTD industry.

If you are approaching the two-year mark on your LTD benefits, you need to understand what is coming. The insurer already started building your file six months ago. This guide covers what they are doing, why it works, and how to protect yourself.

The two definitions, explained simply

Own-occupation means the insurer asks one question: can you do the specific job you had when you became disabled? A surgeon who cannot operate is disabled, even if she could teach anatomy. A pilot grounded by a medical condition is disabled, even if he could answer phones at a call center. The question is about your job, not about whether you can work at all.

If you want to understand how own-occupation coverage works in detail, including the difference between modified and pure own-occ definitions, read our full guide on it.

Any-occupation flips the question entirely. Now the insurer asks: can you do any job for which you are reasonably qualified by education, training, or experience? It does not matter if the job pays a fraction of what you earned before. It does not matter if it has nothing to do with your career. If the insurer can point to a single occupation you could theoretically perform, your benefits end.

Most employer group policies start with own-occupation and switch to any-occupation after a set period. The standard is 24 months, though the range across policies runs from 12 to 48 months. Some newer policies have shortened the own-occ period to as little as 6 months, a trend that disability law firms have flagged as a growing problem. This is very different from a true own-occupation policy, which never switches at all.

Why the switch exists in the first place

Insurance companies designed the transition to balance two goals. The own-occ period gives you time to recover, try treatment, and stabilize. After that window, the insurer's position is that if you can earn a living doing anything at all, you are no longer disabled under the policy terms.

The industry argument sounds reasonable. In practice, it creates a situation where your condition stays the same but your benefits disappear. A corporate VP with chronic pain who cannot manage a department gets told she could work as a general office administrator. A mining engineer with 23 years of experience and a fibromyalgia diagnosis gets told he could do sedentary work. These are real examples from real cases.

The most well-documented is Wallace v. Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company, heard in the District of Arizona. Jeffery Wallace spent 23 years as a mining engineer before fibromyalgia made it impossible to continue. Hartford paid own-occ benefits for 24 months, then terminated under the any-occ definition. The court upheld Hartford's decision, even while noting that Hartford had a conflict of interest as both the claims administrator and the payer. Wallace could not prove he was unable to perform any gainful occupation, despite being unable to do the job he had spent his entire career doing.

Understanding the gap between what "disabled" means to you and what it means to your insurer is the first step toward protecting yourself. But it also helps to understand how disability insurance works overall before getting into the specifics of the transition.

The insurer playbook: what happens behind the scenes

Insurers do not wait until month 24 to decide whether to terminate your benefits. The review process typically starts around month 18.

Month 18: The file review begins. Your claims examiner pulls your entire file. They review every doctor's note, every functional capacity evaluation, every piece of correspondence. They are looking for evidence that you can do some kind of work.

Months 19-20: Independent medical exams and records requests. The insurer may order an independent medical examination (IME). The doctor is chosen and paid by the insurance company. They will also request updated medical records from your treating physicians, sometimes going back years. These records get combed for any note suggesting improvement.

Months 21-22: Vocational assessment. A vocational expert, also paid by the insurer, performs a Transferable Skills Analysis. They map your education, training, and work history against a database of occupations to identify jobs you could theoretically perform. The database they often rely on is the Dictionary of Occupational Titles, which was last substantively updated in the 1990s. Jobs that no longer exist in meaningful numbers still appear in the analysis.

Month 23: The termination letter is drafted. By the time you receive a letter saying your benefits will end, the decision was made weeks ago. The letter cites the definition change, the vocational analysis, and the medical evidence. It reads like a conclusion, not a discussion, because it is one.

Month 24: Benefits stop. You receive your last check. The letter gives you a deadline to appeal, usually 180 days under ERISA rules. The clock starts the day the letter is dated, not the day you read it.

A 2025 survey by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners found that 71% of insurers now use artificial intelligence in claims decisions. One widely reported case involved Cigna's algorithm allegedly processing 300,000 claims in just two months, with a reported 90% error rate on denied claims. Fewer than 1% of those denials were appealed. The combination of AI-driven reviews and low appeal rates means the insurer's initial decision stands almost every time.

If you have already received that termination letter, read our guide on what to do when your disability claim is denied. The appeal process has its own set of traps and deadlines.

What "any occupation" actually means in practice

The phrase "any occupation for which you are reasonably qualified" sounds like it should mean a real job you could actually get and perform. In practice, the bar is much lower than most people expect.

The insurer does not need to find you an actual job opening. They do not need to prove someone would hire you. They only need to show that an occupation exists, somewhere in the economy, that matches your transferable skills and that you could physically perform. The occupation does not need to pay anything close to your previous salary. Most policies define "gainful" as earning 60-80% of your pre-disability income, but the job the insurer points to does not even need to be available in your city.

A few real examples show how this plays out.

Your actual job What the insurer says you can do Why it "qualifies"
Corporate VP, $200K salary General office administrator Sedentary, uses transferable management skills
Mining engineer, 23 years experience Sedentary technical role Engineering education transfers to desk-based work
Commercial pilot Minimum-wage customer service Communication skills transfer, despite FAA medical grounding
Surgeon Medical records reviewer Medical knowledge applies, no physical demands

The vocational experts who produce these analyses are hired and paid by the insurer. Their reports consistently favor the company's position. The Transferable Skills Analysis maps your background against occupational codes from the Dictionary of Occupational Titles, a database that has not been meaningfully updated since the 1990s. Jobs that existed in large numbers thirty years ago may now employ a handful of people nationally. But they still appear as viable occupations in the analysis.

This is also where your employer-sponsored coverage creates a specific problem. Group plans governed by ERISA limit your legal options in ways individual policies do not. Under ERISA, if you end up in court, the judge reviews only whether the insurer's decision was "reasonable" based on the existing file. No jury trial. No new evidence. The administrative record is all that counts, which is why building that record before the switch is critical.

"My SSDI was approved but my LTD was denied"

This is one of the most confusing situations people face, and it happens constantly. You apply for Social Security Disability Insurance. After months of waiting, you are approved. The government has officially determined that you are disabled. Then your private LTD insurer terminates your benefits and says you are not disabled. How is that possible?

The answer is that SSDI and private LTD use completely different definitions. SSDI asks whether you can perform any substantial gainful activity in the national economy. The threshold for 2026 is $1,690 per month. If you cannot earn above that amount, SSDI considers you disabled.

Private LTD asks a different question with a different threshold. Under any-occupation, the insurer looks at whether you can perform a job that uses your specific education, training, and experience, typically one that pays 60-80% of your pre-disability income. The two systems can reach opposite conclusions about the same person with the same medical condition, and they regularly do.

An SSDI approval does not bind your private insurer. Courts have consistently held that the two determinations are independent. Your insurer may even require you to apply for SSDI (most group policies offset your LTD benefit by the SSDI amount), take credit for your SSDI approval to reduce your benefit payment, and then deny your LTD claim under a stricter standard than SSDI uses.

If you want to understand how long LTD benefits actually last and what other time-based limitations apply, our guide covers the full picture.

The mental health hard cap

If your disability involves a mental health condition, there is a separate problem layered on top of the definition change. Most employer group LTD plans cap mental health benefits at exactly 24 months, regardless of the own-occ to any-occ transition. Depression, anxiety, PTSD, bipolar disorder, and other psychological conditions hit a hard wall at two years in most group policies. Physical conditions typically pay to age 65-67.

This means the 24-month mark is a double hit for mental health claimants. The definition changes and the mental health limitation kicks in at the same time. Even if you could prove you are disabled under any-occupation, the mental health cap ends your benefits anyway.

There is legislative movement on this issue. In June 2025, Representatives Mark DeSaulnier and Bobby Scott introduced H.R. 3758, the Workers' Disability Benefits Parity Act. The bill would prohibit mental health limitations that are more restrictive than physical disability limitations. Sun Life has publicly supported the parity concept. The American Council of Life Insurers has raised cost and adverse selection concerns. The bill is still in committee as of September 2026.

Conditions that are also difficult to prove under any-occ because they rely on self-reported symptoms include fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, and chronic pain syndromes. Some policies have separate limitation periods for these conditions, sometimes as short as 9 to 24 months. Check your plan document for language about "self-reported conditions" or "subjective complaints."

The shrinking own-occ window

The 24-month own-occ period has been standard for decades, but it is getting shorter. Some newer employer group policies have reduced the own-occ period to 12 months or even 6 months. This means the definition switch, and the insurer's opportunity to terminate your benefits, arrives much faster.

If your employer changed LTD carriers recently, or if you started a new job in the last few years, do not assume you have 24 months of own-occ protection. Pull your summary plan description and look for the exact language. The transition point is stated in the definition of disability section, usually within the first few pages.

This trend makes it even more important to consider supplementing your group coverage with an individual policy. An individual true own-occupation policy never switches definitions. It costs more, but if your employer's group plan only offers 6 or 12 months of own-occ, the gap between what your group plan covers and what you actually need is enormous.

How to prepare before the switch

The people who keep their benefits through the transition are the ones who prepared for it. It also helps to see what your benefit is really worth after tax, so you know what you are fighting to keep. Here is a month-by-month checklist starting at month 12.

Month 12: Read your full plan document. Not the summary, not the benefits handbook. The actual plan document, which may be 30 to 50 pages. Find the exact language that defines the transition. Note the date your own-occ period ends. Write it down.

Month 14: Get your medical records in order. Request copies of all treating physician notes from the past two years. Read them yourself. Look for language that could be used against you, like "patient reports improvement" or "condition stable." If your doctor wrote something that does not reflect your actual functional limitations, schedule an appointment to discuss it before the insurer requests updated records.

Month 16: Request a Functional Capacity Evaluation from your own doctor. Do not wait for the insurer to order one from their hired expert. Get an objective evaluation from a provider you trust, documenting exactly what you can and cannot do. This becomes part of your medical record and the administrative file.

Month 18: Consult a disability attorney. This is when the insurer starts their review. You should have legal guidance by this point, not after the termination letter arrives. Disability attorneys who specialize in ERISA claims know exactly how insurers build termination files and can advise you on what documentation to add to your file before the insurer makes their decision.

Month 20: Submit a detailed personal statement. Write a description of your daily life, your functional limitations, and why you cannot perform any occupation, not just your own. Send it to the insurer in writing. This goes into the administrative record, and under ERISA, the administrative record is all a judge will see if you end up in court.

Month 22: Ask your treating physicians to write restriction letters. These should specifically address the any-occupation standard, not just your inability to do your previous job. The letters should state what physical and cognitive limitations prevent you from performing any sustained gainful work, not just your old role.

Month 24: Do not panic if the letter arrives. You have 180 days to appeal under most ERISA-governed plans. Some plans use 45 or 60 days, so check immediately. Use that time to build the strongest appeal possible with your attorney. Appeals at this stage typically run 25 to 65 pages with medical evidence, vocational expert rebuttal, and legal argument.

How much does fighting this cost?

Most articles dodge this question. These are the actual numbers.

A one-hour initial consultation with a disability attorney typically costs between $200 and $500. Some firms offer free consultations for ERISA cases they believe have merit.

If you hire an attorney for the full appeal, fees typically run 20-40% of past and future benefits. For some attorneys, that percentage applies for the life of the claim. There is no statutory cap on private LTD attorney fees the way there is for SSDI cases (where attorney fees are capped at 25% of backpay with a fixed dollar ceiling).

That sounds like a lot. But consider the alternative. The average LTD claim lasts 31 to 34 months. If your monthly benefit is $4,000, you are looking at $48,000 per year in benefits. Over even a few years, the total value of your claim is substantial. Claimants who hire an attorney are nearly 3 times more likely to receive benefits than those who appeal on their own.

And yet fewer than 1% of denied claims are ever appealed. That statistic comes from a former Cigna executive. The insurance industry's entire termination model depends on people accepting denial letters and walking away.

Cost Typical range
Initial attorney consultation $0 to $500
Full appeal representation (contingency) 20-40% of benefits recovered
Independent medical exam (your own expert) $1,000 to $5,000
Functional capacity evaluation $500 to $2,000
Vocational expert rebuttal report $2,000 to $5,000

Compare those costs against the value of your claim. If your monthly benefit is $4,000 and you have 10 years remaining on your benefit period, the total claim value is $480,000. Spending $5,000 to $10,000 upfront to protect that claim is not an expense. It is an investment with a clear return.

What if you already got the termination letter

If you are reading this because your benefits were just terminated at the 24-month mark, here is what to do right now.

Find your appeal deadline immediately. Under ERISA, the standard deadline is 180 days from the date on the denial letter. Some plans use shorter deadlines. Missing this window means losing your right to appeal entirely. Open the letter and find the exact date.

Do not call the insurer to argue. Anything you say on the phone can be noted in your file and used against you. Communicate in writing only. If you do call, follow up with a letter documenting what was discussed.

Contact a disability attorney who handles ERISA cases. Not a general practice lawyer. Not a personal injury firm. Find someone whose practice focuses on employer group LTD claims. The ERISA appeal process is technical and unforgiving. New evidence that is not in the administrative record before the appeal deadline may be excluded from any future court review.

Request the full administrative file. Under ERISA, you have the right to a complete copy of every document the insurer used to make their decision. This includes the vocational analysis, the IME report, internal notes, and any algorithmic scoring. Request it in writing the day you receive the denial.

Keep documenting your condition. Continue seeing your treating physicians. Ask them to provide updated assessments addressing the any-occupation standard specifically. Every gap in treatment between the denial and your appeal weakens your case.

Our full guide on what to do when your disability claim is denied covers the appeal process in detail, including ERISA-specific rules that limit what evidence a court will consider.

The bigger picture

The own-occ to any-occ switch is not a bug in the system. It is the system. Insurance companies collect premiums based on the promise of income protection, then use a scheduled definition change to reduce their exposure after 24 months. The transition is written into the contract from day one, buried in language most people never read until it is too late.

The 33% initial denial rate for private LTD claims, the sub-1% appeal rate, and the growing use of AI in claims processing all point in the same direction. The system is built to terminate benefits at the earliest contractually allowed moment, and most people do not fight back.

If you are still employed and reading this to understand your coverage, pull your plan document today. The transition date is in the definition of disability section, usually in the first few pages. If your own-occ period is 24 months or less, and you have no individual policy to fall back on, you now know exactly what will happen if you ever need to use those benefits past the two-year mark. Knowing the date means you can plan around it instead of being surprised by it.