Every disability insurance guide on the internet will tell you the same thing: your policy won't cover injuries from war, self-inflicted harm, or committing a crime. That is true. It is also almost useless. Nobody buys a disability policy thinking it will cover them if they rob a bank.
The exclusions that actually matter are the ones that hit you at claim time, after you have been paying premiums for years, when you are already hurt or sick and counting on that check to show up. Those exclusions are buried in your policy under words like "limitation," "self-reported condition," "change in definition," and "other income offset." They are not hidden exactly. They are just written in language that nobody reads until it is too late.
Here is the number that should bother you: roughly 33% of long-term disability claims are denied. One in three. And when people do appeal, 62% of those appeals get denied too. But here is the part that makes it worse. When the state of California forced Unum, one of the largest disability insurers in the country, to reopen 215,000 previously denied claims, 45% of those denials were reversed. Nearly half of the people who were told "no" had valid claims all along. The insurer just said no and waited for them to give up.
Fewer than 1% of people who get denied ever file an appeal.
So if you are reading this because you want to understand what your policy actually covers before you need it, you are already ahead. If you are reading it because you just got denied and want to know why, you are not alone. Either way, this article goes past the generic exclusion list and into the stuff that catches real people off guard. If you are still figuring out what disability insurance is and how it works, start there first.
The standard exclusions everyone lists (and why they barely matter)
These show up in every policy and almost never come up in real claims.
War and acts of war. Self-inflicted injuries and suicide attempts. Criminal activity, including DUI in some policies. Normal pregnancy (complications are usually covered). On-the-job injuries, which fall under workers' comp instead. High-risk activities like skydiving, motor racing, or BASE jumping.
Those are the ones you will find on every list. The ones that actually cause problems are next.
The pre-existing condition lookback trap
This is the first exclusion that surprises people. Unlike health insurance under the ACA, disability insurance can absolutely deny you for a pre-existing condition.
Here is how it works. When you buy a disability policy, it comes with a lookback period, usually 90 days to 12 months before the policy start date. If you saw a doctor, received treatment, took medication, or were even evaluated for a condition during that lookback window, and that same condition later causes your disability, the insurer can deny your claim.
The catch is that insurers do not just check for diagnosed conditions. They go through your medical records with a fine-tooth comb looking for anything that could be connected to your claim. High blood pressure noted in a routine physical? If you later file for a heart attack, the insurer can argue that was a pre-existing condition. Back pain mentioned to your doctor in passing? If you later file for a herniated disc, same thing.
Most policies also have a waiting period of 12 to 24 months after the policy starts before pre-existing conditions become eligible. So even if your lookback is only 90 days, you might have to wait up to two years before a pre-existing condition is actually covered.
This is one of the reasons insurance agents tell you to buy disability coverage when you are young and healthy. The fewer medical records you have, the fewer exclusions the insurer can write into your policy. If you get your coverage through your employer's group disability plan, the lookback may be shorter or waived entirely, but you trade that benefit for other limitations we will get to.
The mental health 24-month cap
This one affects more people than any other exclusion on this list, and most policyholders have no idea it exists until they hit it.
Nearly every group long-term disability policy caps mental health benefits at 24 months. That means if you are disabled because of depression, anxiety, PTSD, bipolar disorder, panic disorder, or any condition classified in the DSM (the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), your benefits stop after two years. It does not matter how severe your condition is. It does not matter if your psychiatrist says you cannot work. Two years and you are done.
This is not a small category. Only 12% of long-term disabilities are caused by physical injuries like broken bones or torn ligaments. The rest are illnesses, and mental health conditions make up a massive share of those claims.
It gets worse when your disability involves both physical and mental components. Say you have chronic back pain that causes depression. The insurer may argue that your depression is the "primary" condition and cap your benefits at 24 months, even though the physical pain is ongoing. Some policies will cut benefits if mental illness is even a "contributing factor" alongside a physical condition. That creates an absurd incentive where filing a disability claim with depression as a component can actually hurt you.
If you are dealing with anxiety or depression and wondering how your disability coverage handles it, that article walks through the specifics of mental health claims. But the short version is this: if your coverage comes through your employer, assume there is a 24-month cap on mental health and plan accordingly.
The "self-reported condition" limitation nobody reads
This one is even more specific than the mental health cap, and it catches people with conditions that are debilitating but hard to prove with a blood test or an MRI.
Most group disability policies contain a "self-reported condition" limitation that caps benefits at 9 to 24 months for any condition that is primarily diagnosed based on your own description of symptoms. The policy will list these conditions specifically. Common ones include:
Chronic fatigue syndrome. Fibromyalgia. Chronic pain. Headaches and migraines. Tinnitus. Cognitive dysfunction (sometimes called "brain fog"). Some policies also include arthritis, lupus, and Lyme disease under this limitation.
The logic from the insurer's perspective is that these conditions cannot be verified through "objective" medical evidence like lab work, imaging, or a physical exam. They rely on you telling your doctor what you feel. The insurer takes that lack of objective proof and turns it into a time limit on your benefits.
What makes this especially frustrating is that these are real, recognized medical conditions. Fibromyalgia affects an estimated 4 million adults in the United States. Chronic fatigue syndrome can be completely disabling. But because there is no single test that definitively proves them, the insurance company treats them as less valid than a broken leg.
Disability attorneys have challenged this practice in court. Essex Richards, a disability law firm in North Carolina, won a case at the federal appellate level arguing that insurers cannot deny claims simply because the condition relies on subjective symptoms when those conditions inherently involve subjective symptoms. But most people never get to that stage because they do not know this limitation exists until after their benefits run out.
The own-occupation to any-occupation definition switch
This is the exclusion that disability lawyers call "the 24-month trap." It is the single biggest reason long-term disability benefits get terminated, and the timing is not a coincidence.
When you first start receiving long-term disability benefits, most policies define "disabled" as being unable to perform the duties of your own occupation. If you are a surgeon and you cannot operate, you are disabled. If you are a trial attorney and you cannot stand in court, you are disabled. The policy pays.
But at the 24-month mark (sometimes 12 or 48 months, depending on the policy), the definition changes. Now "disabled" means you cannot perform any occupation for which you are reasonably qualified by education, training, or experience. Suddenly the surgeon who cannot operate might be told she could work as a medical consultant. The trial attorney might be told he could review contracts from a desk. Benefits terminated.
Tucker Disability Law calls this "the number one trigger for benefit terminations." Your medical condition has not changed. Your doctors still say you cannot work. But the policy language shifted underneath you, and now the insurer uses a completely different standard to decide whether you qualify.
To make it worse, insurers routinely misclassify your occupation to make the denial easier. A pediatric dermatologist gets reclassified as a generic "physician." A surgical nurse becomes just a "nurse." A trial attorney is reduced to "lawyer." Courts have reversed some of these denials. In 2025, the cases of Mundrati v. Unum and Jahnke v. Unum both involved the insurer broadening the claimant's job description to justify a denial at the any-occupation stage.
If your coverage is through your employer and governed by ERISA, your legal options are limited. No jury trial. No punitive damages. You have to exhaust your administrative appeals before you can even get into federal court. If you want to understand this shift in detail, here is exactly what happens when your policy switches from own-occ to any-occ.
Individual policies sold by companies like Guardian, MassMutual, or Ameritas sometimes offer true own-occupation coverage that never switches. Those policies cost more. But if your income depends on a specialized skill, the price difference might be the most important money you ever spend.
The SSDI offset that quietly shrinks your check
Most people assume that if they qualify for both private long-term disability benefits and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), they will collect both checks in full. That is not how it works.
Nearly every group long-term disability policy contains an "other income offset" clause. When you get approved for SSDI, your private LTD insurer reduces your monthly benefit dollar-for-dollar by the amount of your SSDI payment. If your LTD benefit is $5,000 a month and your SSDI payment is $2,000 a month, the insurer only pays you $3,000. Your total income stays the same. The insurer just shifted $2,000 of the cost to the government.
It gets worse. Most group policies actually require you to apply for SSDI. Some insurers will even provide you with a lawyer to help with your SSDI application. That sounds generous until you realize the insurer is doing it because every dollar you get from Social Security is a dollar they do not have to pay.
And if your SSDI approval comes with a lump sum back-payment covering the months between your application and approval, many policies require you to hand that money over to the insurer too. The logic is that the insurer was "overpaying" you during those months when SSDI should have been covering part of the cost.
The offset can also include dependent benefits. If your spouse or children qualify for Social Security benefits because of your disability, some policies reduce your LTD payment by those amounts as well.
In extreme cases, the offset can reduce your private LTD payment to almost nothing. The insurer keeps your premiums, your doctors confirm you cannot work, and you end up living on just the SSDI check, which averages around $1,500 a month.
Social media surveillance and private investigators
This is not technically a policy "exclusion." It is the mechanism insurers use to manufacture a reason to deny or terminate your claim after it has already been approved.
Disability insurers, including Unum, MetLife, and Aetna, routinely monitor claimants' social media accounts. They look at Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, and anything else that is publicly accessible. In some cases, investigators create fake social media profiles to send you friend requests and access your private posts.
What they are looking for is any post, photo, or check-in that could be interpreted as inconsistent with your disability. A photo of you at a birthday party. A check-in at a restaurant. A vacation picture. A post saying you had "a great day." None of these things mean you are not disabled. A person with chronic back pain can smile at a birthday party. A person with severe depression can have one good day. But the insurer takes that single photo, strips it of all context, and uses it as evidence that your restrictions are not as severe as your doctor says.
For high-value claims, insurers go further. They hire private investigators who follow you with telephoto lenses. The PI might film you carrying a bag of groceries from the car to the house and present that 30-second clip as proof you can do physical labor. They do not film the four hours you spent lying down afterward because the trip wiped you out.
Under ERISA's legal standard, the insurer only needs "substantial evidence" to justify a denial. That is a low bar. A few photos and a PI report can meet it, even when your treating doctor's opinion says otherwise.
If you are currently on disability benefits, assume your social media is being watched. Adjust your privacy settings. Do not accept friend requests from people you do not know. And be extremely careful about what you post, not because you are doing anything wrong, but because your insurer will use whatever they can find.
The "reasonable accommodation" argument
Here is a more subtle way insurers deny claims. Instead of arguing that you are not disabled, they argue that your employer could have accommodated your disability so that you could keep working.
The Americans with Disabilities Act requires employers to provide reasonable accommodations for employees with disabilities. Things like modified schedules, ergonomic equipment, or the option to work from home. The ADA and disability insurance are two completely separate legal frameworks. But some insurers blur the line.
Their argument goes like this: if your employer could have given you a standing desk, or let you work four days instead of five, or allowed you to work remotely, then you were not truly "disabled" under the policy. You could have kept working with accommodations, so you do not qualify for benefits.
This argument is legally questionable. Disability insurance policies evaluate whether you can perform the material duties of your occupation, not whether your employer could have restructured the job to fit your limitations. But insurers use it anyway, especially at the any-occupation stage when they are looking for any basis to terminate your benefits.
The irony is that if you did request a reasonable accommodation from your employer before going on disability, that actually strengthens your claim. It shows you tried everything you could to keep working and it was not enough. A disability attorney can use that accommodation request as evidence that your condition was real and your efforts to stay employed were genuine.
AI algorithms and the 1.2-second denial
The newest tool in the denial playbook is artificial intelligence. The numbers coming out of recent lawsuits tell the story.
In a class action lawsuit, Cigna was accused of using a system called PxDx that auto-flagged claims for denial based on whether the diagnosis matched what Cigna's algorithm considered "acceptable" procedures. Over a two-month period, Cigna's doctors denied more than 300,000 claims, spending an average of 1.2 seconds per review. They confirmed the algorithm's denial without ever looking at the patient's actual medical history.
Separately, UnitedHealthcare faced lawsuits over its nH Predict algorithm, which was used to predict how long a patient would need post-acute care. Denial rates reportedly more than doubled after the tool was implemented, and the alleged error rate was as high as 90%.
According to Tucker Disability Law, 71% of insurers now use AI in some form when making claims decisions. That does not mean every claim is decided by a robot. But it means the initial screening, the first look at your file, might be done by software that has been trained to find reasons to say no.
And because so few people appeal, the model works. If 0.2% of denied claims get appealed, the insurer can afford to deny aggressively and eat the occasional reversal. The math is on their side.
The 24-month pile-up nobody warns you about
This is where it all stacks up. Look at what happens at the 24-month mark of a long-term disability claim:
Your own-occupation definition expires and switches to any-occupation. Your mental health benefits hit their cap and stop. Your self-reported condition limitation may also expire. And by this point, the insurer has had 24 months of your social media posts and possibly PI surveillance to build a case against you.
All of these things hit at the same moment. The insurer now has a stricter definition to apply, a built-in reason to cut mental health benefits, a possible self-reported condition cap to invoke, and a file full of "evidence" from your online activity. If you also got approved for SSDI during those two years (which the insurer pushed you to do), your remaining benefit is already reduced by the offset.
This is not an accident. The policies are designed this way. The 24-month point is the moment when the insurer has the most leverage and the claimant has the least.
If you are approaching your two-year mark on long-term disability benefits, or if you are considering part-time work while on disability, talk to a disability attorney before that transition happens. Once your benefits are terminated at the any-occ switch, getting them back is significantly harder than preventing the termination in the first place.
ERISA: the law that limits your legal options
If your disability insurance comes through your employer, it is almost certainly governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). This federal law was originally designed to protect employee benefits. In practice, it protects the insurer more than it protects you.
Under ERISA, if your claim is denied and your appeal fails, you can file a lawsuit. But the lawsuit has significant limitations. There is no jury trial. A federal judge reviews the case alone. There are no punitive damages. Even if the insurer acted in bad faith, the most you can typically recover is the benefits you were owed plus attorney fees. And in most circuits, the judge reviews the case under an "arbitrary and capricious" standard, which means the insurer's decision will be upheld unless it was completely unreasonable.
The practical effect is that insurers governed by ERISA face very little financial risk for denying valid claims. The worst-case scenario for them is paying out the benefits they should have paid in the first place. There is no punishment for the denial itself.
Compare that to individual disability policies governed by state insurance law, where you can get a jury trial, pursue bad faith damages, and in some states recover punitive damages. That financial exposure is what keeps individual policy insurers more honest. This is one of the biggest hidden differences between employer-provided group disability coverage and a policy you buy on your own.
What you can actually do about all of this
Knowing what your policy does not cover is only useful if you do something with that knowledge. Here is what actually helps.
Read your policy now, not at claim time. Pull out the full policy document or the Summary Plan Description from your employer. Search for the words "limitation," "exclusion," "self-reported," "mental/nervous," "other income," and "change in definition." Know what you are working with before you need it.
Understand which type of policy you have. Individual policies bought on your own have different (and usually better) protections than group policies through your employer. If you have a group plan, you can buy a supplemental individual policy to fill the gaps. The cost depends on your age, health, and occupation, but it is worth getting a quote.
If you are filing a claim, document everything. Your treating physician's opinion is the most important piece of evidence. Make sure your doctor provides detailed functional capacity assessments, not just a diagnosis. The insurer does not care what you have. They care what you cannot do because of what you have.
If you have been denied, get the claim file. Under ERISA, you have a legal right to every document the insurer used to make their decision. Request it immediately. You will often find that the denial was based on a paper review by a doctor who never examined you, or a vocational analysis using a job description that does not match your actual work. Then start building your appeal before the 180-day deadline passes.
The insurance company has actuaries, algorithms, private investigators, and decades of experience denying claims. The least you can do is read the contract.